The Results Archive
Including 978,627 match results over 137 seasons
Newcastle United became the FA Cup holders in May 1955 with a 3 - 1 win over Manchester City in the final. Airfix produce their first scale model aircraft kit, of the Supermarine Spitfire. Austria is able to resume its sovereignty after Russian and Allied troops leave the country in October 1955. Hugh Gaitskell becomes leader of the Labour Party in December 1955. In April 1956 the last French troops are pulled out of Vietnam. Chelsea secured the Football League Title in May 1955. In July 1956 Parliament passes the Clean Air Act, in response to the Great Smog of 1952. Clement Attlee resigns as leader of the Labour Party having held the position for twenty years. Harold Macmillan announces the introduction of Premium Bonds in his budget speech as Chancellor of the Exchequer. The first ITV franchises of the Independent Television Authority begin broadcasting in September 1955.
Select Season:   Select Club:   Select Opponents:
Monday 29 August 1955
Football League
League Standings Prior To This Game
Football League Division 1
Saturday 27 August 1955
8Newcastle United3111983
9Arsenal3111543
10Chelsea3111443
11Luton Town3111523
12Portsmouth3111583
Football League Division 1
Saturday 27 August 1955
15Bolton Wanderers2101362
16Cardiff City3102422
17Huddersfield Town3102362
18Burnley3102162
19Everton3102182
Chelsea   0 - 0   Huddersfield Town
League Standings After This Game
Football League Division 1
Monday 29 August 1955
5Charlton Athletic3120544
6Manchester United3120764
7Chelsea4121444
8Wolverhampton Wanderers3111943
9Newcastle United3111983
Football League Division 1
Monday 29 August 1955
14Aston Villa4112683
15Burnley4112263
16Huddersfield Town4112363
17Bolton Wanderers2101362
18Cardiff City3102422
ALL GAMES PLAYED
 Total number of games played: 66
 Wins for Chelsea:29 (43.94 %)
 Wins for Huddersfield Town:27 (40.91 %)
 Drawn games:10 (15.15 %)
 Goals for Chelsea:99 (average per game: 1.50)
 Goals for Huddersfield Town:94 (average per game: 1.42)
GAMES PLAYED AT CHELSEA
 Number of games played:35
 Wins for Chelsea:17 (48.57 %)
 Wins for Huddersfield Town:10 (28.57 %)
 Drawn games:8 (22.86 %)
 Goals for Chelsea:58 (average per game: 1.66)
 Goals for Huddersfield Town:36 (average per game: 1.03)
GAMES PLAYED AT HUDDERSFIELD TOWN
 Number of games played:31
 Wins for Huddersfield Town:17 (54.84 %)
 Wins for Chelsea:12 (38.71 %)
 Drawn games:2 (6.45 %)
 Goals for Huddersfield Town:58 (average per game: 1.87)
 Goals for Chelsea:41 (average per game: 1.32)
GAMES PLAYED AT NEUTRAL VENUES
 Number of games played:0
Wins for Chelsea:0 (0.00 %)
Wins for Huddersfield Town:0 (0.00 %)
Drawn games:0 (0.00 %)
 Goals for Chelsea:0 (average per game: 0.00)
 Goals for Huddersfield Town:0 (average per game: 0.00)
Wed 9 May 2018BPLChelsea1 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: 38910
Tue 12 Dec 2017BPLHuddersfield Town1 - 3ChelseaAttendance: 24169
Sat 16 Feb 2008FAC: R5Chelsea3 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 7 Jan 2006FAC: R3Chelsea2 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Wed 13 Oct 1999FLC: R3Chelsea0 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 4 Feb 1984CLD2Chelsea3 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 1 Oct 1983CLD2Huddersfield Town2 - 3ChelseaAttendance: NA
Wed 12 Jan 1983FAC: R3RChelsea2 - 0Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 8 Jan 1983FAC: R3Huddersfield Town1 - 1ChelseaAttendance: NA
Mon 20 Sep 1976FLC: R3Chelsea2 - 0Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 8 Jan 1972FLD1Chelsea2 - 2Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 28 Aug 1971FLD1Huddersfield Town1 - 2ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 20 Mar 1971FLD1Chelsea0 - 0Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 7 Nov 1970FLD1Huddersfield Town0 - 1ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 28 Jan 1967FAC: R3Huddersfield Town1 - 2ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 25 Jan 1964FAC: R4Chelsea1 - 2Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 2 Mar 1963FLD2Chelsea1 - 2Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 13 Oct 1962FLD2Huddersfield Town1 - 0ChelseaAttendance: NA
Mon 29 Aug 1955FLD1Chelsea0 - 0Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Wed 24 Aug 1955FLD1Huddersfield Town1 - 3ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 26 Feb 1955FLD1Chelsea4 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 9 Oct 1954FLD1Huddersfield Town1 - 0ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 23 Jan 1954FLD1Chelsea2 - 2Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 12 Sep 1953FLD1Huddersfield Town3 - 1ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 19 Jan 1952FLD1Huddersfield Town1 - 0ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 15 Sep 1951FLD1Chelsea2 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Wed 18 Apr 1951FLD1Huddersfield Town2 - 1ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 2 Sep 1950FLD1Chelsea1 - 2Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 1 Apr 1950FLD1Chelsea3 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 12 Nov 1949FLD1Huddersfield Town1 - 2ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 2 Apr 1949FLD1Chelsea5 - 0Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 6 Nov 1948FLD1Huddersfield Town3 - 4ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 17 Jan 1948FLD1Chelsea2 - 4Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 6 Sep 1947FLD1Huddersfield Town3 - 1ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 19 Apr 1947FLD1Chelsea1 - 0Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 14 Dec 1946FLD1Huddersfield Town1 - 4ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 15 Apr 1939FLD1Huddersfield Town3 - 1ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 10 Dec 1938FLD1Chelsea3 - 0Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 16 Apr 1938FLD1Huddersfield Town1 - 2ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 4 Dec 1937FLD1Chelsea3 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 27 Mar 1937FLD1Chelsea0 - 0Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 21 Nov 1936FLD1Huddersfield Town4 - 2ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 4 Apr 1936FLD1Chelsea1 - 0Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 2 Nov 1935FLD1Huddersfield Town2 - 0ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 23 Feb 1935FLD1Huddersfield Town3 - 0ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 13 Oct 1934FLD1Chelsea2 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 9 Sep 1933FLD1Chelsea2 - 3Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Mon 4 Sep 1933FLD1Huddersfield Town6 - 1ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 7 Jan 1933FLD1Chelsea0 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 3 Sep 1932FLD1Huddersfield Town2 - 0ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 16 Jan 1932FLD1Huddersfield Town2 - 1ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 5 Sep 1931FLD1Chelsea0 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Wed 18 Feb 1931FLD1Chelsea1 - 2Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 11 Oct 1930FLD1Huddersfield Town1 - 1ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 26 Jan 1924FLD1Chelsea0 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 19 Jan 1924FLD1Huddersfield Town0 - 1ChelseaAttendance: NA
Fri 8 Dec 1922FLD1Huddersfield Town3 - 0ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 2 Dec 1922FLD1Chelsea2 - 2Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 6 May 1922FLD1Huddersfield Town2 - 0ChelseaAttendance: NA
Mon 10 Apr 1922FLD1Chelsea1 - 0Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 16 Apr 1921FLD1Chelsea1 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 9 Apr 1921FLD1Huddersfield Town2 - 0ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 23 Mar 1912FLD2Huddersfield Town1 - 3ChelseaAttendance: NA
Sat 18 Nov 1911FLD2Chelsea3 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Tue 18 Apr 1911FLD2Huddersfield Town3 - 1ChelseaAttendance: NA
Mon 20 Mar 1911FLD2Chelsea2 - 0Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA