The Results Archive
Including 1,021,789 match results over 138 seasons
Clement Attlee resigns as leader of the Labour Party having held the position for twenty years. In April 1956 the last French troops are pulled out of Vietnam. In July 1956 Parliament passes the Clean Air Act, in response to the Great Smog of 1952. Austria is able to resume its sovereignty after Russian and Allied troops leave the country in October 1955. Hugh Gaitskell becomes leader of the Labour Party in December 1955. Chelsea secured the Football League Title in May 1955. Newcastle United became the FA Cup holders in May 1955 with a 3 - 1 win over Manchester City in the final. The Barnes Rail crash occurs on 2 December 1955 in South London resulting in the deaths of 13 people. The first ITV franchises of the Independent Television Authority begin broadcasting in September 1955. Harold Macmillan announces the introduction of Premium Bonds in his budget speech as Chancellor of the Exchequer.
Select Season:   Select Club:   Select Opponents:
Saturday 07 April 1956
Football League
League Standings Prior To This Game
Football League Division 1
Tuesday 03 April 1956
8Arsenal38151013554440
9Bolton Wanderers3816715644439
10Newcastle United3916617794438
11Luton Town3815815604438
12West Bromwich Albion3817417544438
Football League Division 1
Tuesday 03 April 1956
1Manchester United392397783855
2Blackpool382099845049
3Manchester City37161011714642
4Birmingham City3816913684641
5Wolverhampton Wanderers3616812734840
Newcastle United   3 - 1   Manchester City
League Standings After This Game
Football League Division 1
Saturday 07 April 1956
6Bolton Wanderers3917715654441
7Wolverhampton Wanderers3716813744840
8Newcastle United4017617824640
9Burnley3916815573640
10Luton Town3916815614440
Football League Division 1
Saturday 07 April 1956
2Blackpool3920910855049
3Birmingham City3917913704843
4Manchester City38161012724642
5Arsenal39161013564442
6Bolton Wanderers3917715654441
ALL GAMES PLAYED
 Total number of games played: 181
 Wins for Newcastle United:72 (39.78 %)
 Wins for Manchester City:69 (38.12 %)
 Drawn games:40 (22.10 %)
 Goals for Newcastle United:263 (average per game: 1.45)
 Goals for Manchester City:273 (average per game: 1.51)
GAMES PLAYED AT NEWCASTLE UNITED
 Number of games played:88
 Wins for Newcastle United:49 (55.68 %)
 Wins for Manchester City:20 (22.73 %)
 Drawn games:19 (21.59 %)
 Goals for Newcastle United:155 (average per game: 1.76)
 Goals for Manchester City:95 (average per game: 1.08)
GAMES PLAYED AT MANCHESTER CITY
 Number of games played:89
 Wins for Manchester City:48 (53.93 %)
 Wins for Newcastle United:20 (22.47 %)
 Drawn games:21 (23.60 %)
 Goals for Manchester City:175 (average per game: 1.97)
 Goals for Newcastle United:100 (average per game: 1.12)
GAMES PLAYED AT NEUTRAL VENUES
 Number of games played:4
Wins for Newcastle United:3 (75.00 %)
Wins for Manchester City:1 (25.00 %)
Drawn games:0 (0.00 %)
 Goals for Newcastle United:8 (average per game: 2.00)
 Goals for Manchester City:3 (average per game: 0.75)
Sat 1 Sep 2018BPLManchester City2 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: 53946
Sat 20 Jan 2018BPLManchester City3 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: 54452
Wed 27 Dec 2017BPLNewcastle United0 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: 52311
Tue 19 Apr 2016BPLNewcastle United1 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: 46424
Sat 3 Oct 2015BPLManchester City6 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: 53850
Sat 21 Feb 2015BPLManchester City5 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: 45602
Wed 29 Oct 2014FLC: R4Manchester City0 - 2Newcastle UnitedAttendance: 40752
Sun 17 Aug 2014BPLNewcastle United0 - 2Manchester CityAttendance: 50816
Sun 12 Jan 2014BPLNewcastle United0 - 2Manchester CityAttendance: 49423
Wed 30 Oct 2013FLC: R4Newcastle United0 - 2Manchester CityAttendance: 33846
Mon 19 Aug 2013BPLManchester City4 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: 46842
Sat 30 Mar 2013BPLManchester City4 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 15 Dec 2012BPLNewcastle United1 - 3Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sun 6 May 2012BPLNewcastle United0 - 2Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 19 Nov 2011BPLManchester City3 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sun 26 Dec 2010BPLNewcastle United1 - 3Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sun 3 Oct 2010BPLManchester City2 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Wed 28 Jan 2009BPLManchester City2 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Mon 20 Oct 2008BPLNewcastle United2 - 2Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Wed 2 Jan 2008BPLNewcastle United0 - 2Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 29 Sep 2007BPLManchester City3 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 31 Mar 2007BPNewcastle United0 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 11 Nov 2006BPManchester City0 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Wed 1 Feb 2006BPManchester City3 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 24 Sep 2005BPNewcastle United1 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Wed 2 Feb 2005BPManchester City1 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sun 24 Oct 2004BPNewcastle United4 - 3Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 1 May 2004BPManchester City1 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 22 Nov 2003BPNewcastle United3 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 18 Jan 2003BPNewcastle United2 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 24 Aug 2002BPManchester City1 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sun 17 Feb 2002FAC: R5Newcastle United1 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 24 Feb 2001FACPNewcastle United0 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 30 Sep 2000FACPManchester City0 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 24 Feb 1996FACPManchester City3 - 3Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 16 Sep 1995FACPNewcastle United3 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 29 Apr 1995FACPManchester City0 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sun 19 Feb 1995FAC: R5Newcastle United3 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Mon 2 Jan 1995FACPNewcastle United0 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Wed 21 Dec 1994FLC: R4RNewcastle United0 - 2Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Wed 30 Nov 1994FLC: R4Manchester City1 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 9 Apr 1994FACPManchester City2 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 1 Jan 1994FACPNewcastle United2 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 21 Mar 1987TLD1Manchester City0 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 11 Oct 1986TLD1Newcastle United3 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 26 Apr 1986CLD1Newcastle United3 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 23 Nov 1985CLD1Manchester City1 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 18 Feb 1984CLD2Manchester City1 - 2Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 29 Oct 1983CLD2Newcastle United5 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Wed 29 Mar 1978FLD1Newcastle United2 - 2Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Mon 26 Dec 1977FLD1Manchester City4 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Wed 16 Feb 1977FLD1Newcastle United2 - 2Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 29 Jan 1977FAC: R4Newcastle United1 - 3Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 6 Nov 1976FLD1Manchester City0 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Wed 14 Apr 1976FLD1Newcastle United2 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 28 Feb 1976FLC: FManchester City2 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 30 Aug 1975FLD1Manchester City4 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 18 Jan 1975FLD1Manchester City5 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 4 Jan 1975FAC: R3Manchester City0 - 2Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 30 Nov 1974FLD1Newcastle United2 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Wed 27 Mar 1974FLD1Manchester City2 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 13 Oct 1973FLD1Newcastle United1 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Wed 18 Apr 1973FLD1Manchester City2 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 23 Dec 1972FLD1Newcastle United2 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 25 Mar 1972FLD1Newcastle United0 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 11 Sep 1971FLD1Manchester City2 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Mon 12 Apr 1971FLD1Newcastle United0 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 3 Oct 1970FLD1Manchester City1 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Wed 8 Oct 1969FLD1Manchester City2 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 16 Aug 1969FLD1Newcastle United1 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Mon 5 May 1969FLD1Manchester City1 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Wed 29 Jan 1969FAC: R4RManchester City2 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 25 Jan 1969FAC: R4Newcastle United0 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 16 Nov 1968FLD1Newcastle United1 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 11 May 1968FLD1Newcastle United3 - 4Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Wed 6 Sep 1967FLD1Manchester City2 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 5 Nov 1966FLD1Manchester City1 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 15 Oct 1966FLD1Newcastle United2 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 24 Apr 1965FLD2Newcastle United0 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Wed 14 Oct 1964FLD2Manchester City3 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 4 Apr 1964FLD2Manchester City3 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 23 Nov 1963FLD2Newcastle United3 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 21 Jan 1961FLD1Manchester City3 - 3Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 10 Sep 1960FLD1Newcastle United1 - 3Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 30 Apr 1960FLD1Newcastle United0 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 28 Nov 1959FLD1Manchester City3 - 4Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 14 Mar 1959FLD1Manchester City5 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 25 Oct 1958FLD1Newcastle United4 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Mon 14 Apr 1958FLD1Newcastle United4 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Mon 7 Apr 1958FLD1Manchester City2 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 2 Mar 1957FLD1Manchester City1 - 2Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Wed 9 Jan 1957FAC: R3RManchester City4 - 5Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 20 Oct 1956FLD1Newcastle United0 - 3Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 7 Apr 1956FLD1Newcastle United3 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Thu 5 Jan 1956FAC: R3Newcastle United1 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 26 Nov 1955FLD1Manchester City1 - 2Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 7 May 1955FAC: FNewcastle United3 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Mon 27 Dec 1954FLD1Newcastle United2 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 25 Dec 1954FLD1Manchester City3 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 3 Apr 1954FLD1Newcastle United4 - 3Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 14 Nov 1953FLD1Manchester City0 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 14 Feb 1953FLD1Manchester City2 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 27 Sep 1952FLD1Newcastle United2 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 12 Apr 1952FLD1Newcastle United1 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 24 Nov 1951FLD1Manchester City2 - 3Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 21 Jan 1950FLD1Manchester City1 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 17 Sep 1949FLD1Newcastle United4 - 2Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 19 Feb 1949FLD1Manchester City1 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 25 Sep 1948FLD1Newcastle United0 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 3 May 1947FLD2Manchester City0 - 2Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 26 Oct 1946FLD2Newcastle United3 - 2Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Wed 26 Dec 1945FLNNewcastle United1 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Tue 25 Dec 1945FLNManchester City4 - 3Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 8 Apr 1939FLD2Newcastle United0 - 2Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 3 Dec 1938FLD2Manchester City4 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Wed 21 Mar 1934FLD1Manchester City1 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 7 Oct 1933FLD1Newcastle United2 - 2Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 1 Apr 1933FLD1Manchester City1 - 2Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 19 Nov 1932FLD1Newcastle United2 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 5 Mar 1932FLD1Manchester City5 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 24 Oct 1931FLD1Newcastle United2 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 11 Apr 1931FLD1Newcastle United0 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 6 Dec 1930FLD1Manchester City2 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 22 Mar 1930FLD1Newcastle United2 - 2Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 16 Nov 1929FLD1Manchester City3 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 23 Mar 1929FLD1Newcastle United4 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 10 Nov 1928FLD1Manchester City2 - 4Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 1 May 1926FLD1Newcastle United3 - 2Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 19 Dec 1925FLD1Manchester City2 - 2Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 24 Jan 1925FLD1Newcastle United2 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 20 Sep 1924FLD1Manchester City3 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 29 Mar 1924FAC: SFNewcastle United2 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 10 Nov 1923FLD1Newcastle United4 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 3 Nov 1923FLD1Manchester City1 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 5 May 1923FLD1Newcastle United3 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 28 Apr 1923FLD1Manchester City0 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 6 May 1922FLD1Manchester City1 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 29 Apr 1922FLD1Newcastle United5 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 7 May 1921FLD1Newcastle United1 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Mon 2 May 1921FLD1Manchester City3 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 24 Apr 1920FLD1Manchester City0 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 17 Apr 1920FLD1Newcastle United3 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 13 Feb 1915FLD1Newcastle United2 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 10 Oct 1914FLD1Manchester City1 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Mon 13 Apr 1914FLD1Manchester City0 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Thu 1 Jan 1914FLD1Newcastle United0 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 15 Feb 1913FLD1Newcastle United0 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sun 13 Oct 1912FLD1Manchester City0 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 27 Jan 1912FLD1Manchester City1 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 23 Sep 1911FLD1Newcastle United1 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 29 Apr 1911FLD1Newcastle United3 - 3Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 24 Dec 1910FLD1Manchester City2 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 27 Feb 1909FLD1Manchester City0 - 2Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 24 Oct 1908FLD1Newcastle United2 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 15 Feb 1908FLD1Newcastle United1 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Fri 18 Oct 1907FLD1Manchester City1 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 16 Feb 1907FLD1Manchester City1 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 13 Oct 1906FLD1Newcastle United2 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Tue 26 Dec 1905FLD1Manchester City1 - 4Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Wed 6 Sep 1905FLD1Newcastle United2 - 2Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 28 Jan 1905FLD1Manchester City3 - 2Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 1 Oct 1904FLD1Newcastle United2 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Fri 1 Apr 1904FLD1Manchester City1 - 3Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 10 Oct 1903FLD1Newcastle United1 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 8 Mar 1902FLD1Manchester City2 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 9 Nov 1901FLD1Newcastle United3 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 20 Apr 1901FLD1Manchester City2 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 15 Dec 1900FLD1Newcastle United2 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Fri 13 Apr 1900FLD1Newcastle United0 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 14 Oct 1899FLD1Manchester City1 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Wed 16 Mar 1898FLD2Newcastle United2 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 8 Jan 1898FLD2Manchester City1 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 6 Feb 1897FLD2Newcastle United3 - 0Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 17 Oct 1896FLD2Manchester City1 - 2Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 21 Mar 1896FLD2Newcastle United4 - 1Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 4 Jan 1896FLD2Manchester City5 - 2Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 9 Feb 1895FLD2Manchester City4 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 27 Oct 1894FLD2Manchester City4 - 5Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 27 Oct 1894FLD2Newcastle United5 - 4Manchester CityAttendance: NA
Sat 6 Jan 1894FLD2Newcastle United2 - 1ArdwickAttendance: NA
Sat 21 Oct 1893FLD2Ardwick2 - 3Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA