The Results Archive
Including 1,021,789 match results over 138 seasons
Manchester United became Football League Champions in May 1957 under manager Matt Busby. In July 1958 the Queen gives her son, Charles, the customary title of the Prince of Wales. Aston Villa beat Manchester United in the FA Cup Final in May 1957 to become the holders of the trophy. Queen Elizabeth and the Prince of Wales visit the White House. In February 1958 Bertrand Russell launches the Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament. CND organizes its first march from London to Aldermaston - home of the Atomic Weapons Establishment. The Manchester United team plane, returning from a European Cup tie, crashes at Munich Airport killing 21 of the 44 people on board. Jodrell Bank observatory becomes operational in October 1957. The graphite core of the nuclear reactor at Windscale in Cumbria catches fire. Conrad Adenauer is re-elected Chancellor of the German Federal Republic.
Select Season:   Select Club:   Select Opponents:
Saturday 09 November 1957
Football League
League Standings Prior To This Game
Football League Division 3 South
Saturday 02 November 1957
15Crystal Palace17647251016
16Shrewsbury Town17566171616
17Watford18477202015
18Aldershot17638222015
19Coventry City15546131614
Football League Division 3 South
Saturday 02 November 1957
7Plymouth Argyle181017231021
8Colchester United19757271619
9Southampton18747382418
10Newport County [1]16664211018
11Queens Park Rangers1782720618
Watford   3 - 0   Southampton
League Standings After This Game
Football League Division 3 South
Saturday 09 November 1957
13Shrewsbury Town18666191818
14Queens Park Rangers1882821618
15Watford19577232017
16Crystal Palace18657271417
17Millwall18729282416
Football League Division 3 South
Saturday 09 November 1957
10Newport County [1]17674231019
11Southend United18828423018
12Southampton19748382418
13Shrewsbury Town18666191818
14Queens Park Rangers1882821618
ALL GAMES PLAYED
 Total number of games played: 81
 Wins for Watford:26 (32.10 %)
 Wins for Southampton:35 (43.21 %)
 Drawn games:20 (24.69 %)
 Goals for Watford:115 (average per game: 1.42)
 Goals for Southampton:138 (average per game: 1.70)
GAMES PLAYED AT WATFORD
 Number of games played:39
 Wins for Watford:18 (46.15 %)
 Wins for Southampton:7 (17.95 %)
 Drawn games:14 (35.90 %)
 Goals for Watford:74 (average per game: 1.90)
 Goals for Southampton:46 (average per game: 1.18)
GAMES PLAYED AT SOUTHAMPTON
 Number of games played:41
 Wins for Southampton:27 (65.85 %)
 Wins for Watford:8 (19.51 %)
 Drawn games:6 (14.63 %)
 Goals for Southampton:90 (average per game: 2.20)
 Goals for Watford:40 (average per game: 0.98)
GAMES PLAYED AT NEUTRAL VENUES
 Number of games played:1
Wins for Watford:0 (0.00 %)
Wins for Southampton:1 (100.00 %)
Drawn games:0 (0.00 %)
 Goals for Watford:1 (average per game: 1.00)
 Goals for Southampton:2 (average per game: 2.00)
Sat 27 Jan 2018FAC: R4Southampton1 - 0WatfordAttendance: 25195
Sat 13 Jan 2018BPLWatford2 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: 20018
Sat 9 Sep 2017BPLSouthampton0 - 2WatfordAttendance: 31435
Sat 4 Mar 2017BPLWatford3 - 4SouthamptonAttendance: 20670
Sat 13 Aug 2016BPLSouthampton1 - 1WatfordAttendance: 31488
Wed 13 Jan 2016BPLSouthampton2 - 0WatfordAttendance: 28399
Sun 23 Aug 2015BPLWatford0 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: 20166
Sat 25 Feb 2012FLCWatford0 - 3SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 1 Oct 2011FLCSouthampton4 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Tue 7 Apr 2009FLCWatford2 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 18 Oct 2008FLCSouthampton0 - 3WatfordAttendance: NA
Tue 1 Jan 2008FLCSouthampton0 - 3WatfordAttendance: NA
Sun 16 Sep 2007FLCWatford3 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Mon 20 Mar 2006FLCSouthampton1 - 3WatfordAttendance: NA
Mon 26 Dec 2005FLCWatford3 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Tue 9 Nov 2004FLC: R4Watford5 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Mon 14 Apr 2003FAC: FSouthampton2 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 15 Apr 2000FACPSouthampton2 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Tue 28 Dec 1999FACPWatford3 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 5 Mar 1988BLD1Watford0 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 17 Oct 1987BLD1Southampton1 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 2 May 1987TLD1Watford1 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 29 Nov 1986TLD1Southampton3 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Tue 29 Apr 1986CLD1Watford1 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 5 Oct 1985CLD1Southampton3 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 6 Apr 1985CLD1Watford1 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Wed 26 Dec 1984CLD1Southampton1 - 2WatfordAttendance: NA
Tue 24 Apr 1984CLD1Watford1 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Tue 27 Dec 1983CLD1Southampton1 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 22 Jan 1983FLD1Watford2 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Tue 31 Aug 1982FLD1Southampton1 - 4WatfordAttendance: NA
Tue 2 Sep 1980FLC: R2BWatford7 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Tue 26 Aug 1980FLC: R2ASouthampton4 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Wed 27 Feb 1963FAC: R4Southampton3 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Tue 2 Feb 1960FAC: R4RWatford1 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 30 Jan 1960FAC: R4Southampton2 - 2WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 5 Apr 1958FLD3SSouthampton5 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 9 Nov 1957FLD3SWatford3 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 27 Apr 1957FLD3SWatford4 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 30 Mar 1957FLD3SSouthampton3 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 3 Mar 1956FLD3SWatford1 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 22 Oct 1955FLD3SSouthampton2 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Mon 11 Apr 1955FLD3SSouthampton2 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Fri 8 Apr 1955FLD3SWatford2 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 31 Oct 1953FLD3SWatford2 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Wed 19 Aug 1953FLD3SSouthampton2 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 29 Oct 1921FLD3SSouthampton2 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 22 Oct 1921FLD3SWatford1 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 22 Jan 1921FLD3SSouthampton4 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 15 Jan 1921FLD3SWatford0 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 1 May 1920SLWatford3 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 27 Dec 1919SLSouthampton5 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 6 Mar 1915SLWatford5 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 31 Oct 1914SLSouthampton3 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 28 Mar 1914SLWatford2 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 22 Nov 1913SLSouthampton1 - 3WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 8 Mar 1913SLSouthampton0 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 2 Nov 1912SLWatford2 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 13 Apr 1912SLSouthampton2 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 9 Dec 1911SLWatford0 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 18 Mar 1911SLSouthampton2 - 2WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 12 Nov 1910SLWatford1 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 23 Apr 1910SLWatford2 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 11 Dec 1909SLSouthampton2 - 2WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 27 Mar 1909SLWatford3 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 21 Nov 1908SLSouthampton1 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 14 Mar 1908SLWatford0 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 16 Nov 1907SLSouthampton1 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 30 Mar 1907SLSouthampton0 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 12 Jan 1907FAC: R1Southampton2 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 24 Nov 1906SLWatford1 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 10 Feb 1906SLWatford4 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 7 Oct 1905SLSouthampton2 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 11 Feb 1905SLWatford0 - 4SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 15 Oct 1904SLSouthampton2 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 28 Mar 1903SLWatford1 - 3SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 13 Dec 1902SLSouthampton11 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 4 Jan 1902SLWatford1 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 21 Sep 1901SLSouthampton5 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 30 Mar 1901SLWatford1 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 8 Dec 1900SLSouthampton1 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA