The Results Archive
Including 1,023,697 match results over 138 seasons
The new Coventry Cathedral is consecrated in May 1962. Tottenham Hotspur secure the League Title in April 1961. In what becomes known as the The BBC begins showing Z Cars - a series that tries to portray the Police in a more realistic light. Tottenham Hotspur win the FA Cup in May 1961 thereby securing the double for the season. President Kennedy sends 18000 James Hanratty is hanged at Bedford Prison for the A6 murder despite protestations from many who believe him to have been innocent. Panda crossings are introduced but cause confusion to many with their sequence of buttons and lights. A CND Rally in Trafalgar Square in September 1961 leads to over 1000 arrests. British Intelligence Officer Kim Philby defects to the Soviet Union in January 1962.
Select Season:   Select Club:   Select Opponents:
Saturday 23 September 1961
Football League
League Standings Prior To This Game
Football League Division 2
Wednesday 20 September 1961
1Liverpool871020215
2Leyton Orient851216611
3Southampton9513191211
4Walsall9513142011
5Bury8503141410
Football League Division 2
Wednesday 20 September 1961
16Leeds United931510127
17Stoke City922513106
18Newcastle United82246126
19Sunderland830514126
20Bristol Rovers92078164
Southampton   1 - 0   Newcastle United
League Standings After This Game
Football League Division 2
Saturday 23 September 1961
1Liverpool981025217
2Southampton10613201213
3Rotherham United860219412
4Leyton Orient951318611
5Huddersfield Town951319811
Football League Division 2
Saturday 23 September 1961
18Leeds United1031610127
19Bristol Rovers1030712166
20Newcastle United92256126
21Preston North End921611145
22Charlton Athletic91269204
ALL GAMES PLAYED
 Total number of games played: 92
 Wins for Southampton:36 (39.13 %)
 Wins for Newcastle United:36 (39.13 %)
 Drawn games:20 (21.74 %)
 Goals for Southampton:133 (average per game: 1.45)
 Goals for Newcastle United:139 (average per game: 1.51)
GAMES PLAYED AT SOUTHAMPTON
 Number of games played:48
 Wins for Southampton:31 (64.58 %)
 Wins for Newcastle United:5 (10.42 %)
 Drawn games:12 (25.00 %)
 Goals for Southampton:93 (average per game: 1.94)
 Goals for Newcastle United:40 (average per game: 0.83)
GAMES PLAYED AT NEWCASTLE UNITED
 Number of games played:44
 Wins for Newcastle United:31 (70.45 %)
 Wins for Southampton:5 (11.36 %)
 Drawn games:8 (18.18 %)
 Goals for Newcastle United:99 (average per game: 2.25)
 Goals for Southampton:40 (average per game: 0.91)
GAMES PLAYED AT NEUTRAL VENUES
 Number of games played:0
Wins for Southampton:0 (0.00 %)
Wins for Newcastle United:0 (0.00 %)
Drawn games:0 (0.00 %)
 Goals for Southampton:0 (average per game: 0.00)
 Goals for Newcastle United:0 (average per game: 0.00)
Sat 10 Mar 2018BPLNewcastle United3 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: 52246
Sun 15 Oct 2017BPLSouthampton2 - 2Newcastle UnitedAttendance: 31437
Sat 9 Apr 2016BPLSouthampton3 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: 31542
Sun 9 Aug 2015BPLNewcastle United2 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: 49019
Sat 17 Jan 2015BPLNewcastle United1 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: 49307
Sat 13 Sep 2014BPLSouthampton4 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: 29678
Sat 29 Mar 2014BPLSouthampton4 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: 31360
Sat 14 Dec 2013BPLNewcastle United1 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: 49164
Sun 24 Feb 2013BPLNewcastle United4 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sun 25 Nov 2012BPLSouthampton2 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 18 Feb 2006FAC: R5Newcastle United1 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 15 Jan 2005BPNewcastle United2 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sun 19 Sep 2004BPSouthampton1 - 2Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Wed 12 May 2004BPSouthampton3 - 3Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 3 Jan 2004FAC: R3Southampton0 - 3Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 4 Oct 2003BPNewcastle United1 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 14 Dec 2002BPSouthampton1 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 16 Nov 2002BPNewcastle United2 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 11 May 2002BPSouthampton3 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 9 Feb 2002BPNewcastle United3 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Tue 1 May 2001FACPNewcastle United1 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 16 Sep 2000FACPSouthampton2 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sun 16 Jan 2000FACPNewcastle United5 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sun 15 Aug 1999FACPSouthampton4 - 2Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 20 Feb 1999FACPSouthampton2 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 12 Sep 1998FACPNewcastle United4 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 28 Mar 1998FACPSouthampton2 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 22 Nov 1997FACPNewcastle United2 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 1 Mar 1997FACPNewcastle United0 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 18 Jan 1997FACPSouthampton2 - 2Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Wed 17 Apr 1996FACPNewcastle United1 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 9 Sep 1995FACPSouthampton1 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Wed 22 Mar 1995FACPSouthampton3 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 27 Aug 1994FACPNewcastle United5 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 22 Jan 1994FACPNewcastle United1 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sun 24 Oct 1993FACPSouthampton2 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 1 Apr 1989BLD1Southampton1 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 17 Dec 1988BLD1Newcastle United3 - 3SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Tue 1 Mar 1988BLD1Southampton1 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 26 Sep 1987BLD1Newcastle United2 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 28 Mar 1987TLD1Newcastle United2 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 4 Oct 1986TLD1Southampton4 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 14 Dec 1985CLD1Newcastle United2 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 17 Aug 1985CLD1Southampton1 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 27 Apr 1985CLD1Newcastle United2 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 24 Nov 1984CLD1Southampton1 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Tue 5 Feb 1974FLD1Southampton3 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Wed 29 Aug 1973FLD1Newcastle United0 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 14 Apr 1973FLD1Southampton1 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 9 Dec 1972FLD1Newcastle United0 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 26 Feb 1972FLD1Southampton1 - 2Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 6 Nov 1971FLD1Newcastle United3 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 20 Mar 1971FLD1Newcastle United2 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 7 Nov 1970FLD1Southampton2 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Wed 11 Feb 1970FLD1Newcastle United2 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 3 Jan 1970FAC: R3Southampton3 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 20 Sep 1969FLD1Southampton1 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 15 Feb 1969FLD1Southampton0 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 30 Nov 1968FLD1Newcastle United4 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Wed 25 Sep 1968FLC: R3Southampton4 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 16 Dec 1967FLD1Southampton0 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 19 Aug 1967FLD1Newcastle United3 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 29 Apr 1967FLD1Newcastle United3 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 3 Dec 1966FLD1Southampton2 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 19 Dec 1964FLD2Southampton0 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 29 Aug 1964FLD2Newcastle United2 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Wed 18 Sep 1963FLD2Southampton2 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Wed 11 Sep 1963FLD2Newcastle United2 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 6 Apr 1963FLD2Newcastle United4 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 17 Nov 1962FLD2Southampton3 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 10 Feb 1962FLD2Newcastle United3 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 23 Sep 1961FLD2Southampton1 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 13 Mar 1948FLD2Southampton4 - 2Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 25 Oct 1947FLD2Newcastle United5 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 15 Feb 1947FLD2Newcastle United1 - 3SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 25 Jan 1947FAC: R4Newcastle United3 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 12 Oct 1946FLD2Southampton1 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 28 Jan 1939FLD2Southampton0 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 24 Sep 1938FLD2Newcastle United1 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 19 Mar 1938FLD2Southampton1 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 6 Nov 1937FLD2Newcastle United3 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 10 Apr 1937FLD2Newcastle United3 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 5 Dec 1936FLD2Southampton2 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 18 Apr 1936FLD2Southampton1 - 3Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 14 Dec 1935FLD2Newcastle United4 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 13 Apr 1935FLD2Southampton2 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 1 Dec 1934FLD2Newcastle United1 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 19 Feb 1927FAC: R5Southampton2 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Wed 17 Jan 1923FAC: R1RSouthampton3 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 13 Jan 1923FAC: R1Newcastle United0 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 17 Feb 1900FAC: R2Southampton4 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 12 Feb 1898FAC: R2Southampton1 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA