The Results Archive
Including 1,021,789 match results over 138 seasons
Bishops Stortford beat Sutton United to win the FA Trophy in 1981. British Telecom announces that telegram is to be discontinued after 139 years of use. Aston Villa became Football League Champions in May 1981. Egyptian leader Anwar Sadat is assassinated by fundamentalist army officers in October 1981. Whickham beat Willenhall Town to win the FA Vase in 1981. Severe weather brings fixture chaos in December and January of the season. Shirley Williams wins the Crosby by election for the Social Democratic Party. Argentina invades the Falkland Islands beginning a war with Britain that will last for some three months. Bill Shankly dies from a heart attack at the age of 67 in September 1981. A Soviet submarine runs aground in Swedish waters in October 1981 and is eventually pulled off by Swedish tugs and returned to Soviet authorities.
Select Season:   Select Club:   Select Opponents:
Saturday 31 October 1981
Football League
League Standings Prior To This Game
Football League Division 1
Saturday 24 October 1981
1Manchester United1365216623
2Ipswich Town11722221023
3Swansea City1171322822
4Tottenham Hotspur11704171621
5Nottingham Forest1154214619
Football League Division 1
Saturday 24 October 1981
18Leeds United1233611612
19West Bromwich Albion112459810
20Middlesbrough122378229
21Wolverhampton Wanderers112275148
22Sunderland111466107
Swansea City   0 - 0   Wolverhampton Wanderers
League Standings After This Game
Football League Division 1
Saturday 31 October 1981
2Ipswich Town12822231026
3Tottenham Hotspur12804191624
4Swansea City1272322823
5Nottingham Forest1264216822
6West Ham United12561241821
Football League Division 1
Saturday 31 October 1981
18Leeds United1333712612
19West Bromwich Albion1225512811
20Middlesbrough1323810229
21Wolverhampton Wanderers122375149
22Sunderland121476147
ALL GAMES PLAYED
 Total number of games played: 36
 Wins for Swansea City:9 (25.00 %)
 Wins for Wolverhampton Wanderers:16 (44.44 %)
 Drawn games:11 (30.56 %)
 Goals for Swansea City:54 (average per game: 1.50)
 Goals for Wolverhampton Wanderers:69 (average per game: 1.92)
GAMES PLAYED AT SWANSEA CITY
 Number of games played:18
 Wins for Swansea City:6 (33.33 %)
 Wins for Wolverhampton Wanderers:7 (38.89 %)
 Drawn games:5 (27.78 %)
 Goals for Swansea City:33 (average per game: 1.83)
 Goals for Wolverhampton Wanderers:36 (average per game: 2.00)
GAMES PLAYED AT WOLVERHAMPTON WANDERERS
 Number of games played:18
 Wins for Wolverhampton Wanderers:9 (50.00 %)
 Wins for Swansea City:3 (16.67 %)
 Drawn games:6 (33.33 %)
 Goals for Wolverhampton Wanderers:33 (average per game: 1.83)
 Goals for Swansea City:21 (average per game: 1.17)
GAMES PLAYED AT NEUTRAL VENUES
 Number of games played:0
Wins for Swansea City:0 (0.00 %)
Wins for Wolverhampton Wanderers:0 (0.00 %)
Drawn games:0 (0.00 %)
 Goals for Swansea City:0 (average per game: 0.00)
 Goals for Wolverhampton Wanderers:0 (average per game: 0.00)
Wed 17 Jan 2018FAC: R3RSwansea City2 - 1Wolverhampton WanderersAttendance: 8294
Sat 6 Jan 2018FAC: R3Wolverhampton Wanderers0 - 0Swansea CityAttendance: 22976
Sat 28 Apr 2012BPLSwansea City4 - 4Wolverhampton WanderersAttendance: NA
Sat 22 Oct 2011BPLWolverhampton Wanderers2 - 2Swansea CityAttendance: NA
Tue 28 Oct 2008FLCWolverhampton Wanderers2 - 1Swansea CityAttendance: NA
Sat 4 Oct 2008FLCSwansea City3 - 1Wolverhampton WanderersAttendance: NA
Wed 11 Sep 2002FLC: R1Swansea City2 - 3Wolverhampton WanderersAttendance: NA
Sat 22 Apr 1989Wolverhampton Wanderers1 - 1Swansea CityAttendance: NA
Sat 24 Sep 1988Swansea City0 - 5Wolverhampton WanderersAttendance: NA
Sat 23 Apr 1988Wolverhampton Wanderers2 - 0Swansea CityAttendance: NA
Tue 3 Nov 1987Swansea City1 - 2Wolverhampton WanderersAttendance: NA
Sat 14 Mar 1987Wolverhampton Wanderers4 - 0Swansea CityAttendance: NA
Sat 18 Oct 1986Swansea City1 - 0Wolverhampton WanderersAttendance: NA
Sat 25 Jan 1986Swansea City0 - 2Wolverhampton WanderersAttendance: NA
Sat 14 Sep 1985Wolverhampton Wanderers1 - 5Swansea CityAttendance: NA
Sat 20 Mar 1982FLD1Wolverhampton Wanderers0 - 1Swansea CityAttendance: NA
Sat 31 Oct 1981FLD1Swansea City0 - 0Wolverhampton WanderersAttendance: NA
Wed 4 Sep 1968FLC: R2Wolverhampton Wanderers1 - 0Swansea TownAttendance: NA
Thu 5 Jan 1956FAC: R3Wolverhampton Wanderers5 - 3Swansea TownAttendance: NA
Sat 30 Mar 1946FLSWolverhampton Wanderers1 - 0Swansea TownAttendance: NA
Sat 23 Mar 1946FLSSwansea Town2 - 5Wolverhampton WanderersAttendance: NA
Sat 8 Jan 1938FAC: R3Swansea Town0 - 4Wolverhampton WanderersAttendance: NA
Sat 5 Mar 1932FLD2Swansea Town1 - 1Wolverhampton WanderersAttendance: NA
Sat 24 Oct 1931FLD2Wolverhampton Wanderers2 - 0Swansea TownAttendance: NA
Sat 18 Apr 1931FLD2Swansea Town1 - 1Wolverhampton WanderersAttendance: NA
Sat 13 Dec 1930FLD2Wolverhampton Wanderers3 - 1Swansea TownAttendance: NA
Sat 18 Jan 1930FLD2Swansea Town2 - 2Wolverhampton WanderersAttendance: NA
Sat 14 Sep 1929FLD2Wolverhampton Wanderers4 - 1Swansea TownAttendance: NA
Sat 30 Mar 1929FLD2Swansea Town2 - 0Wolverhampton WanderersAttendance: NA
Sat 17 Nov 1928FLD2Wolverhampton Wanderers0 - 0Swansea TownAttendance: NA
Mon 30 Apr 1928FLD2Wolverhampton Wanderers1 - 1Swansea TownAttendance: NA
Sat 17 Sep 1927FLD2Swansea Town6 - 0Wolverhampton WanderersAttendance: NA
Sat 22 Jan 1927FLD2Swansea Town4 - 1Wolverhampton WanderersAttendance: NA
Sat 4 Sep 1926FLD2Wolverhampton Wanderers2 - 2Swansea TownAttendance: NA
Sat 6 Feb 1926FLD2Wolverhampton Wanderers2 - 3Swansea TownAttendance: NA
Sat 26 Sep 1925FLD2Swansea Town2 - 4Wolverhampton WanderersAttendance: NA