The Results Archive
Including 1,023,483 match results over 138 seasons
The Mary Rose is raised from the Solent. Welsh language television station S4C is launched. Forest Green Rovers beat Rainworth Miners Welfare to win the FA Vase in 1982. Although reports of casualty numbers vary there was clearly a major incident in the Salang Tunnel in Afghanistan in which both Russian soldiers and Afghan civilians were killed. Tottenham beat QPR in a replay to win the FA Cup in May 1982. Liverpool are again Football League Champions in May 1982. Channel 4 begins to broadcast in November 1982. A victory parade is held in London to mark the end of the Falklands War. Helmut Kohl is elected Chancellor of West Germany in October 1982. Enfield beat Altrincham to win the FA Trophy in May 1982.
Select Season:   Select Club:   Select Opponents:
Wednesday 12 January 1983
FA Cup
League Standings Prior To This Game
Football League Division 2
Monday 03 January 1983
11Barnsley237106322431
12Crystal Palace23797262030
13Newcastle United23797342630
14Blackburn Rovers23869342630
15Chelsea23779251628
Football League Division 1
Tuesday 04 January 1983
17Luton Town23689413426
18Norwich City237511252426
19Brighton & Hove Albion236611212024
20Swansea City236512292223
21Sunderland235810252223
Newcastle United   0 - 1   Brighton & Hove Albion
League Standings After This Game
Football League Division 2
Monday 03 January 1983
11Barnsley237106322431
12Crystal Palace23797262030
13Newcastle United23797342630
14Blackburn Rovers23869342630
15Chelsea23779251628
Football League Division 1
Tuesday 04 January 1983
17Luton Town23689413426
18Norwich City237511252426
19Brighton & Hove Albion236611212024
20Swansea City236512292223
21Sunderland235810252223
ALL GAMES PLAYED
 Total number of games played: 22
 Wins for Newcastle United:9 (40.91 %)
 Wins for Brighton & Hove Albion:9 (40.91 %)
 Drawn games:4 (18.18 %)
 Goals for Newcastle United:31 (average per game: 1.41)
 Goals for Brighton & Hove Albion:22 (average per game: 1.00)
GAMES PLAYED AT NEWCASTLE UNITED
 Number of games played:11
 Wins for Newcastle United:5 (45.45 %)
 Wins for Brighton & Hove Albion:4 (36.36 %)
 Drawn games:2 (18.18 %)
 Goals for Newcastle United:16 (average per game: 1.45)
 Goals for Brighton & Hove Albion:8 (average per game: 0.73)
GAMES PLAYED AT BRIGHTON & HOVE ALBION
 Number of games played:11
 Wins for Brighton & Hove Albion:5 (45.45 %)
 Wins for Newcastle United:4 (36.36 %)
 Drawn games:2 (18.18 %)
 Goals for Brighton & Hove Albion:14 (average per game: 1.27)
 Goals for Newcastle United:15 (average per game: 1.36)
GAMES PLAYED AT NEUTRAL VENUES
 Number of games played:0
Wins for Newcastle United:0 (0.00 %)
Wins for Brighton & Hove Albion:0 (0.00 %)
Drawn games:0 (0.00 %)
 Goals for Newcastle United:0 (average per game: 0.00)
 Goals for Brighton & Hove Albion:0 (average per game: 0.00)
Sat 30 Dec 2017BPLNewcastle United0 - 0Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: 52209
Sun 24 Sep 2017BPLBrighton & Hove Albion1 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: 30468
Tue 28 Feb 2017FLCBrighton & Hove Albion1 - 2Newcastle UnitedAttendance: 30230
Sat 27 Aug 2016FLCNewcastle United2 - 0Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: 49196
Sat 5 Jan 2013FAC: R3Brighton & Hove Albion2 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 28 Jan 2012FAC: R4Brighton & Hove Albion1 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 7 Mar 1992BLD2Newcastle United0 - 1Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 14 Dec 1991BLD2Brighton & Hove Albion2 - 2Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Wed 27 Feb 1991BLD2Newcastle United0 - 0Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Wed 16 Jan 1991BLD2Brighton & Hove Albion4 - 2Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 31 Mar 1990BLD2Newcastle United2 - 0Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 21 Oct 1989BLD2Brighton & Hove Albion0 - 3Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 4 Jan 1986FAC: R3Newcastle United0 - 2Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 12 May 1984CLD2Newcastle United3 - 1Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 17 Dec 1983CLD2Brighton & Hove Albion0 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Wed 12 Jan 1983FAC: R3RNewcastle United0 - 1Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 8 Jan 1983FAC: R3Brighton & Hove Albion1 - 1Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 5 May 1979FLD2Newcastle United1 - 3Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 30 Dec 1978FLD2Brighton & Hove Albion2 - 0Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 10 Mar 1962FLD2Brighton & Hove Albion0 - 4Newcastle UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 21 Oct 1961FLD2Newcastle United5 - 0Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 15 Feb 1930FAC: R5Newcastle United3 - 0Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA