The Results Archive
Including 1,023,483 match results over 138 seasons
Soviet President Gorbachev and US President Bush declare Cold War over. The Guildford Four are released from prison after their convictions are quashed. Hungary declared that communist rule is over in October 1989. Archbishop Desmond Tutu leads an anti apartheid march in South Africa. Communist party resigns in Czechoslovakia in November 1989. Liverpool win an all Merseyside FA Cup Final against Everton in May 1989. All citizens of the GDR are allowed to visit West Germany in November 1989 - marking the end of the Berlin wall. East German leader Erich Honecker resigns in October 1989. Telford United beat Macclesfield Town to win the FA Trophy in May 1989. Arsenal clinch the title at Anfield on the final day of the season in May 1989.
Select Season:   Select Club:   Select Opponents:
Saturday 16 September 1989
Barclays League
League Standings Prior To This Game
Barclays League Barclays League Division 2
Wednesday 13 September 1989
2Sunderland5311111010
3Plymouth Argyle53021129
4Brighton & Hove Albion53021229
5West Ham United5230869
6Blackburn Rovers5230549
Barclays League Barclays League Division 2
Wednesday 13 September 1989
3Plymouth Argyle53021129
4Brighton & Hove Albion53021229
5West Ham United5230869
6Blackburn Rovers5230549
7Ipswich Town5221948
Brighton & Hove Albion   3 - 0   West Ham United
League Standings After This Game
Barclays League Barclays League Division 2
Saturday 16 September 1989
1Sheffield United642015814
2Brighton & Hove Albion640215212
3Sunderland6321121011
4Watford63217211
5Plymouth Argyle631211210
Barclays League Barclays League Division 2
Saturday 16 September 1989
6Newcastle United631212610
7Blackburn Rovers62406610
8West Ham United6231869
9Leeds United6231869
10Middlesbrough622212128
ALL GAMES PLAYED
 Total number of games played: 48
 Wins for Brighton & Hove Albion:18 (37.50 %)
 Wins for West Ham United:15 (31.25 %)
 Drawn games:15 (31.25 %)
 Goals for Brighton & Hove Albion:58 (average per game: 1.21)
 Goals for West Ham United:57 (average per game: 1.19)
GAMES PLAYED AT BRIGHTON & HOVE ALBION
 Number of games played:23
 Wins for Brighton & Hove Albion:14 (60.87 %)
 Wins for West Ham United:3 (13.04 %)
 Drawn games:6 (26.09 %)
 Goals for Brighton & Hove Albion:40 (average per game: 1.74)
 Goals for West Ham United:16 (average per game: 0.70)
GAMES PLAYED AT WEST HAM UNITED
 Number of games played:25
 Wins for West Ham United:12 (48.00 %)
 Wins for Brighton & Hove Albion:4 (16.00 %)
 Drawn games:9 (36.00 %)
 Goals for West Ham United:41 (average per game: 1.64)
 Goals for Brighton & Hove Albion:18 (average per game: 0.72)
GAMES PLAYED AT NEUTRAL VENUES
 Number of games played:0
Wins for Brighton & Hove Albion:0 (0.00 %)
Wins for West Ham United:0 (0.00 %)
Drawn games:0 (0.00 %)
 Goals for Brighton & Hove Albion:0 (average per game: 0.00)
 Goals for West Ham United:0 (average per game: 0.00)
Fri 5 Oct 2018BPLBrighton & Hove Albion1 - 0West Ham UnitedAttendance: 30544
Sat 3 Feb 2018BPLBrighton & Hove Albion3 - 1West Ham UnitedAttendance: 30589
Fri 20 Oct 2017BPLWest Ham United0 - 3Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: 56977
Sat 14 Apr 2012FLCWest Ham United6 - 0Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Mon 24 Oct 2011FLCBrighton & Hove Albion0 - 1West Ham UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 6 Jan 2007FAC: R3West Ham United3 - 0Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 23 Apr 2005FLCBrighton & Hove Albion2 - 2West Ham UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 13 Nov 2004FLCWest Ham United0 - 1Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Wed 10 Apr 1991BLD2Brighton & Hove Albion1 - 0West Ham UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 17 Nov 1990BLD2West Ham United2 - 1Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 10 Feb 1990BLD2West Ham United3 - 1Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 16 Sep 1989BLD2Brighton & Hove Albion3 - 0West Ham UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 5 Mar 1983FLD1West Ham United2 - 1Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 23 Oct 1982FLD1Brighton & Hove Albion3 - 1West Ham UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 16 Jan 1982FLD1Brighton & Hove Albion1 - 0West Ham UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 29 Aug 1981FLD1West Ham United1 - 1Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 10 Mar 1979FLD2West Ham United0 - 0Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 28 Oct 1978FLD2Brighton & Hove Albion1 - 2West Ham UnitedAttendance: NA
Wed 22 Feb 1933FAC: R5RWest Ham United1 - 0Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 18 Feb 1933FAC: R5Brighton & Hove Albion2 - 2West Ham UnitedAttendance: NA
Wed 7 Feb 1923FAC: R2RWest Ham United1 - 0Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 3 Feb 1923FAC: R2Brighton & Hove Albion1 - 1West Ham UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 26 Dec 1914SLWest Ham United2 - 1Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Fri 25 Dec 1914SLBrighton & Hove Albion0 - 0West Ham UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 18 Apr 1914SLWest Ham United1 - 1Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 13 Dec 1913SLBrighton & Hove Albion0 - 1West Ham UnitedAttendance: NA
Mon 24 Mar 1913SLBrighton & Hove Albion0 - 0West Ham UnitedAttendance: NA
Fri 21 Mar 1913SLWest Ham United1 - 1Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 13 Apr 1912SLBrighton & Hove Albion2 - 0West Ham UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 9 Dec 1911SLWest Ham United1 - 1Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Wed 26 Apr 1911SLBrighton & Hove Albion3 - 0West Ham UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 5 Nov 1910SLWest Ham United3 - 1Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Mon 27 Dec 1909SLBrighton & Hove Albion3 - 0West Ham UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 25 Dec 1909SLWest Ham United1 - 1Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 2 Jan 1909SLWest Ham United1 - 1Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 5 Sep 1908SLBrighton & Hove Albion3 - 2West Ham UnitedAttendance: NA
Wed 25 Mar 1908SLBrighton & Hove Albion3 - 0West Ham UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 5 Oct 1907SLWest Ham United0 - 0Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 23 Mar 1907SLBrighton & Hove Albion2 - 0West Ham UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 17 Nov 1906SLWest Ham United0 - 0Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 17 Mar 1906SLBrighton & Hove Albion0 - 0West Ham UnitedAttendance: NA
Sat 11 Nov 1905SLWest Ham United2 - 0Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 25 Mar 1905SLBrighton & Hove Albion3 - 1West Ham UnitedAttendance: NA
Tue 27 Dec 1904SLWest Ham United0 - 1Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 10 Dec 1904FAC: 6QWest Ham United1 - 2Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 13 Feb 1904SLWest Ham United5 - 0Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 31 Oct 1903FAC: 3QWest Ham United4 - 0Brighton & Hove AlbionAttendance: NA
Sat 17 Oct 1903SLBrighton & Hove Albion3 - 2West Ham UnitedAttendance: NA