The Results Archive
Including 1,003,546 match results over 137 seasons
In what has become an Irish war of independence British forces set fire to part of Cork. The Unknown Warrior arrives in November 1920 for burial in Westminster Abbey. The Auxiliary Division of the Royal Irish constabulary opens fire on a crowd at a Gaelic game in Croke Park in November 1920. Rupert Bear appears in a cartoon strip for the first time in the Daily Express in November 1920. West Bromwich Albion are comfortable winners of the first Football League Championship after the Great War. Aston Villa beat Huddersfield Town to lift the FA Cup in April 1920. Tbilisi is occupied by the Bolsheviks Red Army in February 1921. Car tax discs are introduced at the start of 1921 as a way of showing that the road fund tax had been paid. An ambush near the village of Kilmichael leaves 17 dead from the Auxiliary Division of the Royal Irish Constabulary. Eleven die and many are injured as riots occur in Belfast in August 1920.
Select Season:   Select Club:   Select Opponents:
Saturday 22 January 1921
Football League
League Standings Prior To This Game
Football League Division 3 South
Saturday 15 January 1921
1Crystal Palace241356362031
2Southampton231184381230
3Swindon Town221264492030
4Watford221336381629
5Millwall23124726228
Football League Division 3 South
Saturday 15 January 1921
2Southampton231184381230
3Swindon Town221264492030
4Watford221336381629
5Millwall23124726228
6Queens Park Rangers231157371227
Southampton   4 - 1   Watford
League Standings After This Game
Football League Division 3 South
Saturday 22 January 1921
1Crystal Palace251456392433
2Southampton241284421432
3Swindon Town231265502030
4Queens Park Rangers241257411629
5Watford231337391629
Football League Division 3 South
Saturday 22 January 1921
3Swindon Town231265502030
4Queens Park Rangers241257411629
5Watford231337391629
6Millwall24124828228
7Merthyr Town23986321626
ALL GAMES PLAYED
 Total number of games played: 81
 Wins for Southampton:35 (43.21 %)
 Wins for Watford:26 (32.10 %)
 Drawn games:20 (24.69 %)
 Goals for Southampton:138 (average per game: 1.70)
 Goals for Watford:115 (average per game: 1.42)
GAMES PLAYED AT SOUTHAMPTON
 Number of games played:41
 Wins for Southampton:27 (65.85 %)
 Wins for Watford:8 (19.51 %)
 Drawn games:6 (14.63 %)
 Goals for Southampton:90 (average per game: 2.20)
 Goals for Watford:40 (average per game: 0.98)
GAMES PLAYED AT WATFORD
 Number of games played:39
 Wins for Watford:18 (46.15 %)
 Wins for Southampton:7 (17.95 %)
 Drawn games:14 (35.90 %)
 Goals for Watford:74 (average per game: 1.90)
 Goals for Southampton:46 (average per game: 1.18)
GAMES PLAYED AT NEUTRAL VENUES
 Number of games played:1
Wins for Southampton:1 (100.00 %)
Wins for Watford:0 (0.00 %)
Drawn games:0 (0.00 %)
 Goals for Southampton:2 (average per game: 2.00)
 Goals for Watford:1 (average per game: 1.00)
Sat 27 Jan 2018FAC: R4Southampton1 - 0WatfordAttendance: 25195
Sat 13 Jan 2018BPLWatford2 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: 20018
Sat 9 Sep 2017BPLSouthampton0 - 2WatfordAttendance: 31435
Sat 4 Mar 2017BPLWatford3 - 4SouthamptonAttendance: 20670
Sat 13 Aug 2016BPLSouthampton1 - 1WatfordAttendance: 31488
Wed 13 Jan 2016BPLSouthampton2 - 0WatfordAttendance: 28399
Sun 23 Aug 2015BPLWatford0 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: 20166
Sat 25 Feb 2012NPCWatford0 - 3SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 1 Oct 2011NPCSouthampton4 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Tue 7 Apr 2009CCCWatford2 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 18 Oct 2008CCCSouthampton0 - 3WatfordAttendance: NA
Tue 1 Jan 2008CCCSouthampton0 - 3WatfordAttendance: NA
Sun 16 Sep 2007CCCWatford3 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Mon 20 Mar 2006CCCSouthampton1 - 3WatfordAttendance: NA
Mon 26 Dec 2005CCCWatford3 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Tue 9 Nov 2004FLC: R4Watford5 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Mon 14 Apr 2003FAC: FSouthampton2 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 15 Apr 2000FACPSouthampton2 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Tue 28 Dec 1999FACPWatford3 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 5 Mar 1988BLD1Watford0 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 17 Oct 1987BLD1Southampton1 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 2 May 1987TLD1Watford1 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 29 Nov 1986TLD1Southampton3 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Tue 29 Apr 1986CLD1Watford1 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 5 Oct 1985CLD1Southampton3 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 6 Apr 1985CLD1Watford1 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Wed 26 Dec 1984CLD1Southampton1 - 2WatfordAttendance: NA
Tue 24 Apr 1984CLD1Watford1 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Tue 27 Dec 1983CLD1Southampton1 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 22 Jan 1983FLD1Watford2 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Tue 31 Aug 1982FLD1Southampton1 - 4WatfordAttendance: NA
Tue 2 Sep 1980FLC: R2BWatford7 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Tue 26 Aug 1980FLC: R2ASouthampton4 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Wed 27 Feb 1963FAC: R4Southampton3 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Tue 2 Feb 1960FAC: R4RWatford1 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 30 Jan 1960FAC: R4Southampton2 - 2WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 5 Apr 1958FLD3SSouthampton5 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 9 Nov 1957FLD3SWatford3 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 27 Apr 1957FLD3SWatford4 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 30 Mar 1957FLD3SSouthampton3 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 3 Mar 1956FLD3SWatford1 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 22 Oct 1955FLD3SSouthampton2 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Mon 11 Apr 1955FLD3SSouthampton2 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Fri 8 Apr 1955FLD3SWatford2 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 31 Oct 1953FLD3SWatford2 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Wed 19 Aug 1953FLD3SSouthampton2 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 29 Oct 1921FLD3SSouthampton2 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 22 Oct 1921FLD3SWatford1 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 22 Jan 1921FLD3SSouthampton4 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 15 Jan 1921FLD3SWatford0 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 1 May 1920SLWatford3 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 27 Dec 1919SLSouthampton5 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 6 Mar 1915SLWatford5 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 31 Oct 1914SLSouthampton3 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 28 Mar 1914SLWatford2 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 22 Nov 1913SLSouthampton1 - 3WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 8 Mar 1913SLSouthampton0 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 2 Nov 1912SLWatford2 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 13 Apr 1912SLSouthampton2 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 9 Dec 1911SLWatford0 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 18 Mar 1911SLSouthampton2 - 2WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 12 Nov 1910SLWatford1 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 23 Apr 1910SLWatford2 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 11 Dec 1909SLSouthampton2 - 2WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 27 Mar 1909SLWatford3 - 0SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 21 Nov 1908SLSouthampton1 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 14 Mar 1908SLWatford0 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 16 Nov 1907SLSouthampton1 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 30 Mar 1907SLSouthampton0 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 12 Jan 1907FAC: R1Southampton2 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 24 Nov 1906SLWatford1 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 10 Feb 1906SLWatford4 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 7 Oct 1905SLSouthampton2 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 11 Feb 1905SLWatford0 - 4SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 15 Oct 1904SLSouthampton2 - 1WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 28 Mar 1903SLWatford1 - 3SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 13 Dec 1902SLSouthampton11 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 4 Jan 1902SLWatford1 - 2SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 21 Sep 1901SLSouthampton5 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA
Sat 30 Mar 1901SLWatford1 - 1SouthamptonAttendance: NA
Sat 8 Dec 1900SLSouthampton1 - 0WatfordAttendance: NA