The Results Archive
Including 1,023,483 match results over 138 seasons
Liverpool gain the title of Football League Champions in June 1947. The United Nations approves a partition plan for Palestine that will allow for the creation of a Jewish state. In September 1947 the British Cabinet votes to withdraw its troops from Palestine. Charlton Athletic beat Burnley by a single goal in April 1947 to become the FA Cup holders. In May 1948 the British Mandate for Palestine officially ends and the state of Israel comes into being. The British Government nationalises the railway industry and creates British Rail at the start of 1948. US President Truman signs the Marshall Plan giving $5 billion aid to countries in Western Europe. Princess Elizabeth marries the Duke of Edinburgh at Westminster Abbey. The Empire Windrush arrives in Britain carrying 500 immigrants from Jamaica. Burma became independent of the United Kingdom in January 1948.
Select Season:   Select Club:   Select Opponents:
Saturday 01 May 1948
Football League
League Standings Prior To This Game
Football League Division 1
Wednesday 28 April 1948
2Manchester United4118149775250
3Derby County41191210774850
4Burnley41191210542250
5Wolverhampton Wanderers4119913825847
6Preston North End4120714675647
Football League Division 1
Wednesday 28 April 1948
15Middlesbrough4114918704837
16Chelsea4114918525437
17Huddersfield Town41121217504836
18Sunderland41131018563636
19Bolton Wanderers4116421465036
Burnley   2 - 1   Huddersfield Town
League Standings After This Game
Football League Division 1
Saturday 01 May 1948
1Arsenal4223136813059
2Manchester United4219149815452
3Burnley42201210562452
4Derby County42191211774850
5Wolverhampton Wanderers4219914835847
Football League Division 1
Saturday 01 May 1948
17Bolton Wanderers4216521465037
18Chelsea4214919535437
19Huddersfield Town42121218514836
20Sunderland42131019563636
21Blackburn Rovers42111021546032
ALL GAMES PLAYED
 Total number of games played: 75
 Wins for Burnley:33 (44.00 %)
 Wins for Huddersfield Town:28 (37.33 %)
 Drawn games:14 (18.67 %)
 Goals for Burnley:96 (average per game: 1.28)
 Goals for Huddersfield Town:96 (average per game: 1.28)
GAMES PLAYED AT BURNLEY
 Number of games played:39
 Wins for Burnley:20 (51.28 %)
 Wins for Huddersfield Town:10 (25.64 %)
 Drawn games:9 (23.08 %)
 Goals for Burnley:62 (average per game: 1.59)
 Goals for Huddersfield Town:46 (average per game: 1.18)
GAMES PLAYED AT HUDDERSFIELD TOWN
 Number of games played:36
 Wins for Huddersfield Town:18 (50.00 %)
 Wins for Burnley:13 (36.11 %)
 Drawn games:5 (13.89 %)
 Goals for Huddersfield Town:50 (average per game: 1.39)
 Goals for Burnley:34 (average per game: 0.94)
GAMES PLAYED AT NEUTRAL VENUES
 Number of games played:0
Wins for Burnley:0 (0.00 %)
Wins for Huddersfield Town:0 (0.00 %)
Drawn games:0 (0.00 %)
 Goals for Burnley:0 (average per game: 0.00)
 Goals for Huddersfield Town:0 (average per game: 0.00)
Sat 6 Oct 2018BPLBurnley1 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: 20533
Sat 30 Dec 2017BPLHuddersfield Town0 - 0BurnleyAttendance: 24095
Sat 23 Sep 2017BPLBurnley0 - 0Huddersfield TownAttendance: 20759
Sat 12 Mar 2016FLCHuddersfield Town1 - 3BurnleyAttendance: 13917
Sat 31 Oct 2015FLCBurnley2 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: 16749
Wed 1 Jan 2014FLCBurnley3 - 2Huddersfield TownAttendance: 14047
Sat 30 Nov 2013FLCHuddersfield Town2 - 1BurnleyAttendance: 17390
Tue 26 Feb 2013FLCBurnley0 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 25 Aug 2012FLCHuddersfield Town2 - 0BurnleyAttendance: NA
Tue 1 Oct 2002FLC: R2Huddersfield Town0 - 1BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 24 Feb 2001FLCBurnley1 - 0Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 23 Sep 2000FLCHuddersfield Town0 - 1BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 5 Feb 1994FL1Huddersfield Town1 - 1BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 23 Oct 1993FL1Burnley1 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 27 Mar 1993FL1Huddersfield Town1 - 1BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 21 Nov 1992FL1Burnley2 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 30 Jan 1982FLD3Huddersfield Town1 - 2BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 19 Sep 1981FLD3Burnley0 - 0Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Tue 14 Apr 1981FLD3Burnley4 - 2Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Tue 21 Oct 1980FLD3Huddersfield Town0 - 0BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 14 Apr 1973FLD2Huddersfield Town0 - 2BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 3 Feb 1973FLD2Burnley2 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 15 Jan 1972FAC: R3Burnley0 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 13 Mar 1971FLD1Huddersfield Town0 - 1BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 14 Nov 1970FLD1Burnley2 - 3Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 15 Feb 1964FAC: R5Burnley3 - 0Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 16 Feb 1957FAC: R5Huddersfield Town1 - 2BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 18 Feb 1956FLD1Huddersfield Town1 - 0BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 8 Oct 1955FLD1Burnley2 - 0Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 9 Apr 1955FLD1Burnley1 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 4 Dec 1954FLD1Huddersfield Town0 - 1BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 17 Apr 1954FLD1Burnley2 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 28 Nov 1953FLD1Huddersfield Town3 - 1BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 12 Apr 1952FLD1Burnley0 - 2Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 24 Nov 1951FLD1Huddersfield Town1 - 3BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 13 Jan 1951FLD1Burnley0 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 9 Sep 1950FLD1Huddersfield Town3 - 1BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 18 Mar 1950FLD1Burnley1 - 0Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 26 Nov 1949FLD1Huddersfield Town1 - 2BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 12 Mar 1949FLD1Huddersfield Town1 - 0BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 16 Oct 1948FLD1Burnley1 - 2Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 1 May 1948FLD1Burnley2 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 13 Dec 1947FLD1Huddersfield Town0 - 1BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 16 Feb 1946FLNHuddersfield Town4 - 2BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 26 Jan 1946FLNBurnley4 - 3Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Tue 1 Apr 1930FLD1Burnley1 - 3Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 26 Oct 1929FLD1Huddersfield Town3 - 0BurnleyAttendance: NA
Tue 16 Apr 1929FLD1Burnley3 - 2Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 10 Nov 1928FLD1Huddersfield Town7 - 1BurnleyAttendance: NA
Wed 25 Apr 1928FLD1Huddersfield Town1 - 2BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 10 Dec 1927FLD1Burnley0 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 12 Mar 1927FLD1Huddersfield Town2 - 0BurnleyAttendance: NA
Fri 22 Oct 1926FLD1Burnley2 - 2Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 20 Feb 1926FLD1Burnley1 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 10 Oct 1925FLD1Huddersfield Town2 - 1BurnleyAttendance: NA
Fri 26 Dec 1924FLD1Huddersfield Town2 - 0BurnleyAttendance: NA
Thu 25 Dec 1924FLD1Burnley1 - 5Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Tue 22 Apr 1924FLD1Huddersfield Town1 - 0BurnleyAttendance: NA
Fri 18 Apr 1924FLD1Burnley1 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 23 Feb 1924FAC: R3Burnley1 - 0Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 24 Mar 1923FLD1Burnley0 - 2Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 17 Mar 1923FLD1Huddersfield Town2 - 0BurnleyAttendance: NA
Wed 11 Jan 1922FAC: R1RHuddersfield Town3 - 2BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 7 Jan 1922FAC: R1Burnley2 - 2Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 10 Dec 1921FLD1Burnley1 - 0Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 3 Dec 1921FLD1Huddersfield Town1 - 0BurnleyAttendance: NA
Mon 6 Sep 1920FLD1Burnley3 - 0Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Mon 30 Aug 1920FLD1Huddersfield Town1 - 0BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 9 Jan 1915FAC: R1Burnley3 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Wed 26 Feb 1913FLD2Huddersfield Town1 - 0BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 19 Oct 1912FLD2Burnley4 - 0Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 20 Apr 1912FLD2Burnley3 - 0Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 16 Dec 1911FLD2Huddersfield Town1 - 1BurnleyAttendance: NA
Sat 7 Jan 1911FLD2Burnley2 - 1Huddersfield TownAttendance: NA
Sat 10 Sep 1910FLD2Huddersfield Town0 - 1BurnleyAttendance: NA